A sentence or two 1호

안녕하세요 여려분! 제 이름은 파트리사 입니다.  저는 호주에 살고 있어요. 그리고, 저는 필리핀 사람 입니다. 하지만, 뉴질랜드가 제 고향이에요.

Ok, so this is what I think it says. “Hello everyone! My name is Patricia. I am living in Australia and I am Filipino but New Zealand is my hometown.

I think it would be better if it were, “Hello everyone! My name is Patricia. I am currently living in Australia and am Filipino but New Zealand is my hometown. ” Maybe I could use, “지금 저는 호주에 살고 있어요.” instead of “저는 호주에 살고 있어요.” ?🙂

그래서…
안녕하세요 = Being the greeting (Hello)
여려분 = Everyone
입니다 = To be

제 = One form of I (?)  No, could it be more described as something like, “My”?
이름 = Name
은 = Topic Particle, ‘은’ and not ‘는’ because ‘이름’ ends with ㅁ, which is a consonant.
호주 = Australia
에 = Location particle defining, time, direction and location. “at” “in” “to” In this case, “in” – “Living in…”
살 = Verb stem of 살다 meaning ‘to live’
살고 있어요 = “I am living.” ‘있어요’ expressing that something is existing/is there/expressing possession.

호주

호주

그리고 = conjunctive (and)
저 = I
는 = Topic particle, ‘는’ and not ‘은’ because ‘저’ ends with a vowel. ‘저는’
사람 = Person
필리핀 = Philippines
입니다 = To be
So…really I guess, “저는 필리핀 사람 입니다” could translate to something like, “I’m a Filipino/Philippine person.” xD?

필리핀

필리핀

하지만 = But
뉴질랜드 = New Zealand
제 = I am not too sure on this one😦, but it is sounding like that it is like the word, “My”
고향 = Home
이에요 = 이예요/이에요 – “It’s”
‘고향’ ends with a consonant so ‘이에요’ is being used. “It’s home”, “It’s hometown”
ex. 커피예요! ~ It’s coffee!
ex. 학교예요! ~ It’s school!
ex. 물이에요! ~ It’s water!

So it’s basically just Noun + 이에요/예요 depending on the ending of the noun to say ‘It’s xxx.”!
‘이에요’ if the noun ends with a consonant (every letter in the alphabet except: A, E, I, O and U).
‘예요’ if the noun ends with a vowel (A, E, I, O or U)!!!
Sorry, it’s so basic.😦

뉴질랜드

뉴질랜드

안녕히 가세요 ^^ 감사합니다!!

Leave a Reply

